Virginia Tech Football Reveals Four 2019 Captains

By: Tim Thomas | @TimThomasTLP | Aug 31, 2019

Ahead of their season opener today against Boston College, the Virginia Tech football program revealed the four players that were chosen at captains for the 2019 season.

Senior offensive lineman Tyrell Smith, junior tight end Dalton Keene, senior safety Reggie Floyd, and junior defensive tackle Jarrod Hewitt were named captains for the 2019 season. Floyd is the only captain returning from last season while this is the second-straight season that the Hokies have had multiple non-senior captains after Floyd and Josh Jackson last year.

Floyd's inclusion should be no surprise especially after the Hokies' star rover received the #1 jersey for the 2019 season as voted on by the team in large part due to his leadership. Smith has been praised throughout fall camp for his leadership as well while Keene and Hewitt have been veteran presences for the Hokies and popular choices to represent the Virginia Tech football program in public.

After player leadership questions were raised surrounding last year's team, the Hokies see these four veteran players as the voices who can provide the leadership that can help get this team and program back on track after the worst season in 20+ years.

Photo Credit: Harley Taylor

Stay up with The Tech Lunch Pail for the latest on Virginia Tech. Like us on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter. Subscribe to our email updates.