Michael Vick Among 5 to be Inducted Into Virginia Tech Hall of Fame

By: Tim Thomas | @TimThomasTLP | Jul 11, 2017
The Virginia Tech Hokies have had plenty of elite athletes leave significant sporting impacts on Virginia Tech and today, the athletic department announced that five former stars will be inducted into the Hokies' Hall of Fame this fall. https://twitter.com/hokiesports/status/884766843973636097 Michael Vick, Zabian Dowdell, Tim Buheller, Megan Evans, and Ben Taylor will be inducted into the Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame. This is an impressive group of five athletes who all have left major impacts on Virginia Tech and are well-deserving of this recognition. Michael Vick is definitely the headline as the greatest player in football program history is going into the VT Hall of Fame months after retiring from the NFL. This appears to be the first opportunity for Vick to be inducted into the Hall of Fame and will definitely increase Hokies' fans interest in whatever football game that he is inducted into the Hall of Fame. Vick led Virginia Tech to the highest point that the football program has ever been, and the closest VT has been to winning a national title coming up just short of the national title in the 2000 Sugar Bowl against Florida State. Vick had an illustrious career in Blacksburg helping to build Virginia Tech into a football power before leaving to be the number 1 pick in the 2001 NFL Draft by the Atlanta Falcons. However, Vick isn't the only Hokie legend going into the Hall of Fame. Former Virginia Tech basketball star Zabian Dowdell also is headed into the Hall of Fame after a great career in Blacksburg that included him leading the Hokies to the 2007 NCAA Tournament while also earning All-ACC First Team and All-American Honorable Mention honors as a senior that year. Dowdell is eighth on the Hokies' all-time scoring list while also having led VT in scoring in his sophomore, junior, and senior seasons. Tim Buheller was one of Virginia Tech's greatest baseball players and has now received this well-deserved, prestigious honor. Buheller earned All-Metro Conference First Team honors in 1983, 1985, and 1986 while also being Virginia Tech's all-time leader in stolen bases, runs scored, walks, and outfield assists. If you're putting together an all-time Virginia Tech baseball team, Tim Buheller should definitely be your center fielder. Megan Evans is the greatest power hitter in Virginia Tech softball history as she is the Hokies' all-time leader in home runs, RBIs, slugging percentage, and total bases in a career in which she started all but one game, something that's even more impressive given how catcher was her primary position and that she only had 11 errors in 191 games. Evans was a member of All-Big East Second Team in 2004 and All-ACC Second Team in 2005 along with being named to the NFCA All-Region Team all four years of her career. Ben Taylor is the fifth and final member of this class but also a well-deserving selection as a starter on the 1999 team that went to the national title game. Taylor's best season came in 2000 and 2001 as he earned All-Big East First Team honors both years along with a few Second and Third Team All-America honors. Taylor is second all-time in tackles for loss among Virginia Tech linebackers, solidifying his status as one of the best linebackers in VT history. Congrats to Michael Vick, Zabian Dowdell, Tim Buheller, Megan Evans, and Ben Taylor on being inducted into the Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame.