Hokies Announce Captains for 2018 Season

By: Matthew Atkins | @mattkins21 | Aug 31, 2018
The Virginia Tech football team has announced its captains for the 2018 season, and there’s a good mix of experience among the four players chosen. Offensive lineman Kyle Chung, defensive tackle Ricky Walker, defensive back Reggie Floyd and quarterback Josh Jackson have been chosen as the captains for the 2018 campaign. [embed]https://twitter.com/CoachFuente/status/1035227080026406913[/embed] Sixth-year lineman Kyle Chung is the most experienced of the four. He has been with the program since 2013 and after a few injury-plagued seasons, started to see playing time. He started all 13 games at right tackle for the Hokies last season. Ricky Walker is one of the bright spots returning to the Hokies on defense this season. Walker became a regular starter for the first time last season, starting all 13 games. He finished the season with 41 tackles, including 12.5 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks. In the game against UNC, he returned a fumble recovery for a touchdown as Tech won 59-7. A 2017 All-ACC Honorable Mention, Walker is the most experienced starter on the defensive line. Another returning starter on defense, junior Reggie Floyd leads a young group of defensive backs into the 2018 season. Floyd played in 13 games last season, starting in 12. He totaled 72 tackles and three interceptions on the season. He returned one interception 69 yards for a touchdown in the win over UNC. Rounding out the group of captains this season is sophomore quarterback Josh Jackson. Jackson started all 13 games as a freshman in 2017, leading the Hokies to a 9-4 record. Jackson set Virginia Tech freshman records with 2,991 passing yards and 20 touchdowns. He also rushed for 324 yards and six touchdowns on the season. He leads a young offense largely composed of sophomores into the 2018 season. The four captains will lead the charge as the Hokies begin the 2018 season at Florida State on Monday night. The conference game to kick off the season will begin at 8 p.m. and be broadcast on ESPN.